Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello guys,

New rider to the forum, but not to riding. :)

I thought i wanted to give you a little background about myself before asking my question. I started riding last year, i went through the MFC class and got my license through there. It was fun experience and i was happy that i did it.

Shortly after that, i ended up picking Ninja 250 as i felt it was good starting bike and it was for me. I loved the bike, easy to ride, very good handling and light and most of all it was fun to ride. At about 1000 miles on the bike, i went down and totaled the bike. It was my mistake, i take full responsiblity for it. I got to comfortable on the bike and pushed it outside my skill. I ended up going down on a highway ramp, the ramp had a sharp turn, and when i entered the turn, i press on the gas and my back tire spined out. I ended up falling of the bike at that point and sliding in the ramp wall, my bike first and then myself. Lucky i had all my gear on me, leather pants, knee protection, boots, helmet, leather jacket, glows and walked away with bruised knees, and couple of stitches on my lip. (BTW i allays wear my full gear and i am glad i did when i went down)

It was an eye opener and i realized what it means when the experience riders say "dont ridee outside your skill". When i went down in the ramp, i was not trying to speed, it was lack of experience on my part that i did not judge what the appropriate speed was for that turn. It was stupid i should have taken the turn slower.

I want to get back to riding this season, and now i have to decide what to get for my second bike. The first time around, the choice was easy for me getting the 250, but now i feel that i would be ok on 600?

I am not a pro but i would not say that i am absolute beginner, on my 250 i was going on rides with twists couple of times with other riders, traffice/highway riding.