Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 87 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi fellow riders

I have been riding for 4 years and i want to upgrade. I need your advices.
I want to buy either an r1 spec
installed Hid's , d3 grips, asv shorty levers, hotbodies windscreen, watson flushmount turn signals, fender eliminator kit, 2400kmiles for 8k plus ttl

Or a used 2012 zx14
condition with only 2400 miles on it . This bike comes with a great looking set of carbon fiber slip ons , power commander with custom map , Pazzo levers and genmar bar risers . 12 pl ttl

I need to know which one is the better deal.
I like to do longer rides maybe 100 mile each way
Comfort is good if possible . So do you guys think the extra 4 k is worth it for the upgrade vs the r1. Maintenence wise how much in the lobg run. I plan to keep this for 10 years. For the money and upgrade which one ?

·
Registered
15,272 Posts
Pure sport bike or sport/touring bike?

Big difference in size, comfort, ergos - ZX14 gonna be the more comfortable ride, but what, about 100 extra pounds?

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
I know. I sat on a busa and it was too wide and heavy stock. But the zx 14 had new exhaust. Should be lighter right. I am 5'8 and weight 140
Stock zx exhaust weigh around 40lb. Does putting slip on save weight or full exhaust

·
Registered
15,272 Posts
Slip on should be the biggest weight savings, i don't think a full system would save much more, but that would depend if it's got cats and where those are

Big benefit of the full system is flow

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
How about the price. The r1 is a deal locally vs dealer on zx14. What do you guys think for a person keeping this bike. I am really digging the 14 with the mods but that r1 is a steal

·
Registered
15,272 Posts
If the R1 is comfortable enough for you, I'd go for it.