Sport Bikes banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last summer (2004) i bought what turned out to be a very tired 95' Suzuki Katana. I rode the sh&* out of this bike in the 4 months of riding time i had. When i went to bring it out of the the storage shed this summer (2005) i couldnt get it started so i brought it in for what i figured was going to be a simple tune up. Well a quote of $1600 later to get the bike back up and running (complete motor rebuild) turned me off.

I began looking for a new bike and i always liked the Kawasaki ZX-6r, i found a 2003 at my local dealership and thanks to the lovely Kawasaki credit card i drove it home the next day.

Anyways i am more or less a complete noob when it comes to sportbikes in general. I dont attempt wheelies and have only smoked the rear tire a couple times. I do not feel like i am riding this bike to its full potential. Barely ever break 10k in rpms, and dont have many decent roads to push the bike on (michigan=pothole repair's everywhere")

Did I upgrade to quickly, should i have just bought a used 2k bike or was buying a bike that im not skilled enough to ride correctly not a very big deal?

·
Registered
491 Posts
No you didn't upgrade to quickly. If you're happy w/the bike then you're in great shape. Have fun with it.

·
Hardass!
8,085 Posts
Slappy77 said:
Last summer (2004) i bought what turned out to be a very tired 95' Suzuki Katana. I rode the sh&* out of this bike in the 4 months of riding time i had. When i went to bring it out of the the storage shed this summer (2005) i couldnt get it started so i brought it in for what i figured was going to be a simple tune up. Well a quote of $1600 later to get the bike back up and running (complete motor rebuild) turned me off.

I began looking for a new bike and i always liked the Kawasaki ZX-6r, i found a 2003 at my local dealership and thanks to the lovely Kawasaki credit card i drove it home the next day.