Sport Bikes banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My last street bike was a 1994 Honda CBR 600 F2. I am about to buy a FZ6 and was curious if anyone could possibly compare the two for me in terms of power and handling. I really loved my CBR, but now I am gettng a little older really wanted a bike where I wasn't hunched over as much.I've been riding for 17 years and most of those have been on either dirt bikes or "crouch rockets". I am looking for something to cruise around with but still have that pep.

·
Registered
194 Posts
I can't give a comparision to the CBR F2 cause I never had one but I can give you my comparsion of 600cc sportbikes to the FZ6. Power wise I can probably say they are probably the same, maybe the edge would be given to the FZ6 because of fuel injection vs the carbs on an F2. The weight I would say the FZ6 has a few more pounds on it but not as noticable. Handling I would give it to the F2 or any other sportbike in the same class. That doesn't mean the FZ6 doesn't handle well just that the crotch rockets are more geared towards more technical turns at higher rates of speed so obviously they can be flipped around better then the more sitting up position. Brakes and shocks are probably better on the F2 then the FZ6. Some reason Yamaha went to older tech when it came to the front shocks and brakes. The stopping power is adequate enough. But don't think about doing endos cause I don't think they would hold up.