Sport Bikes banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, Everyone I have a Issue I Just cant Fiqure Out im a Auto/Small Engine/Atv Mechanic And this one is stumping me although i Think i have and idea about it now so maybe you can help I Have a 1992 FZR600 I got as a repair in my shop thinking it just had carb problems i cleaned all the carbs put new jets and harware in them i have the fuel adjusted about 2 1/2 turns out choaks workiing properly. Has Great spark New plugs. Heres the problem the bike just dosent want to start. But if i keep cranking it for about 30mins 45mins It will eventually fire up and run fine and onces it's warm it will fire rite up everytime without a issue. Only when the cylinders are cold will it not start. Now just the other day i did a trick that i do with small engines two and 4 strokes i poured a little oil in each carb and then it fired up. I think it's just worn out but does anyone have any ideas on this. Thanks

·
Registered
1,063 Posts
Sure sounds like choke(enricher) isn't doing it's job.

I've never heard of putting oil in the carbs. I have heard of putting some oil in the cylinders to bump compression though. Was this the intent? Have you verified low compression? When were the valves last adjusted?

·
Registered
210 Posts
It def sounds like a choke or air/fuel issue.

Try a little bit of starting fluid in the carbs to get it started right away and try some minor adjustments on the carb from that point.

One of my 1st bikes was an old FZR 600 and I used to have to shut the fuel off, choke it and start it, it constantly got flooded so I had to starve it for fuel, get it started then turn the fuel on and let it idle......I ended up making some carb adjustments and never had to do that again.

·
Registered
1,811 Posts