Sportbikes.net

Sportbikes.net (https://www.sportbikes.net/forums/)
-   Suspension and Tire Tech (https://www.sportbikes.net/forums/suspension-tire-tech/)
-   -   Should a Q2 wear this fast? (https://www.sportbikes.net/forums/suspension-tire-tech/500938-should-q2-wear-fast.html)

CoonDawg 05-07-2014 04:40 PM

Should a Q2 wear this fast?

1 Attachment(s)
Background: Newer rider with about 5k miles ridden. This particular tire has only about 4-4.5k miles on it. No track-days of any kind; I'm still learning how to ride.

First off, what the hell is with those patches? They're all over the sides.

Secondly, most of the tread is gone everywhere but the center. It's passed all the wear patches.

Is this even remotely normal mileage? I've tried to research this tire and people on liter bikes are getting 8, 10, even 12k miles on a front Q2. I don't understand how a sv650 did this much damage.

Oh, and would you recommend riding on this tire? I have new brake pads coming tomorrow and I kinda wanted to try them out...

F4sSprintST 05-07-2014 06:07 PM

271 Attachment(s)
I've gotten from 3k to 7k from front Q2's

Yes, I've gotten those kind of wear patterns, especially back when I'd carry more speed into the corners. I'm working on that and getting better wear patterns.

Plus, lots of folks advised me on tire pressure

CoonDawg 05-07-2014 08:03 PM

But the question is: can I still ride?

riverszzr 05-07-2014 08:13 PM

Sure right after you get a new front tire

Then try not braking all the way to the apex and actually come in slower and use the throttle to set the suspension (ie some drive taking some load off the front and transferring it to the rear)

lowcel 05-07-2014 08:16 PM

Are you checking your tire pressure on a regular basis?

CoonDawg 05-07-2014 08:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lowcel (Post 5412202)
Are you checking your tire pressure on a regular basis?

lol no

lowcel 05-07-2014 08:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoonDawg (Post 5412210)
lol no