Adjusting rear tire after chain ajustment - Sportbikes.net
Suspension and Tire Tech For all discussions related to your suspension and tire set-ups.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-15-2012, 06:30 PM Thread Starter
Supersport Racer

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

Adjusting rear tire after chain ajustment

Disclaimer: I'm a total novice here just learning myself so there might be more info on this subject that I'm not aware of.

My CBR600 needed the chain adjusted so I was able to do this without a problem...just afterwards, I was wondering how to get the rear wheel aligned accurately--more than using the alignment marks at the axle which a lot of people complain is not accurate.

Googled a bunch of stuff, and found a method that made the most sense off of the 600rr.net forum( not talking about the initial method mentioned in that thread where the original poster uses string). Scroll down to post #11:
Wheel alignment **The secrets ** : Honda CBR 600RR Sportbike Forum : 600RR.Net

The tool here mentioned is a pair of rods that get inserted through the rear axle and swingarm. This tool is available from Quality Machine Company, Inc. - Savannah Georgia on this page: Quality Machine Company, Inc. - Savannah Georgia
titled Alignment Tool

I emailed asking about the total price including shipping, and was quoted $90 by Jimmy Chance of that company.

Googled Jimmy Chance to see who he was and it appears that his son races or raced sportbikes so he must know something about aligning rear wheels.

Found one web page about Jimmy's son:
James Chance

Anyway, the alignment tool makes sense since it is simple to use.
Wondering if anyone else knew of other ways to align the rear wheel?

my 2012 CBR600

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 (permalink) Old 08-15-2012, 06:43 PM