LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-28-2006, 04:03 PM Thread Starter
Site Sponsor

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)

How To Plastic Weld

How to Plastic Weld

After a few people have asked for some "How-To's" on different subjects, I have finally gotten caught up after our move and will start getting these done.

*DISCLAIMER* I'm not very good at waiting for pics to be taken, nor am I very good at showing how to do things on video.. some steps I'll jump forward or backward on. I'll explain it in the text, but you'll just have to deal with the fact that sometimes I go faster than the camera. Also.. these are NOT the ONLY way to do the things I show. There are many ways to achieve the same thing, some may be 'better', but I've found that the way I do it works for me, and has been consistently of good quality for my customers. The way I do it is NOT the only way to do it.

I'll show you how to repair a crack using an easy-to-find (and use) Radio Shack Soldering Iron (Cat No 64-2802B). I sometimes use a "plastic welder", and sometimes I use Plastex, but typically, on a straight break like the one in these photos on an R1 tail, I just use a soldering iron and melt the two sides back together then reinforce from the back with a light coat of reinforced epoxy.

Here is the peice we'll be working on. It's an R1 tail that I had sitting around for spare plastic. It's gotten some irreplaceable tabs missing, and is only good for chopping up. It just so happened to have a nice, 7" long crack up one side.

Here is the crack. It's along the bottom edge of the tail, right under the 'shoulder' where the tail turns in towards the seat. It's a common place for a break, and kind of a pain for bodywork, because of the roundness of the area. Has to be done by hand...