User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 11-26-2005, 01:27 PM Thread Starter
Supersport Racer

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

how to: convert to R6 projectors

ok this is my first time for writing a how to so be patent with me and post anything i need to clarify

this is a how to to mount the r6 projector headlights in a fz6.

Step 1: obtain a r6 projector setup. I found mine on ebay for $25. link: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...RK%3AMEWA%3AIT
you will not require the external housing for the project since it is a diffrent shape anyways....

Step 2: once you obtain the headlight go to home depo. you will need the following supplies:
#1 you will need longer bolts than the ones holding the projector together. I used a nut to adjust the length, since there are various mounting depths requires. i will show pictures in another step. if you want to go through the trouble you can experament and find the exact lenght, however i did not. i bought 6 #8x3/4, 32 pitch machine bolts and 6 #8 32 pitch nuts.
#2 3/4"X1/8" steel bar, mine came in 48" lenghts
#3 black spray paint, i used high temp engine paint since the hedlight does get warm....flat black so it wont reflect....
#4 threadlocker

step 3: now you should have all the supplies, when you are ready go ahread and remove the headlight assy, follow the manual on how to do this, remove the headlights from the assy, you should have something simmalar to this
https://www.sportbikes.net/forums/att...chmentid=64254

step 4: warm your oven to 350 degrees then TURN IT OFF. place the headlight on a cool metal pan so it does not contact the oven, place in the oven for 10 min, remove and pry the lens off, the glue should be soft enough that it comes right off once you lift the tabs that hold it together. i used 3 screwdrivers to do this with. I took a while and had to put it back in to do the 2nd side. it should now look like this