On the fence - Sportbikes.net
New Riders Welcome to those just starting out or interested in learning more about motorcycling. Please read the stickies, and feel free to ask questions.

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 02-07-2017, 10:01 PM Thread Starter
SBN Newb

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)

On the fence

Hey all, I am new to riding and have zero experience. I recently got my permit. First, while I am excited to ride for the miles savings on my truck and gas savings (daily commute is 80 miles round trip), I am also quite nervous in general and feel a bit intimidated. Of course I am getting mixed reviews from friends on ride on what to get for first bike. The typical being "250\300 is too small get a 600" or "250\300 is just fine". I am a bigger guy at 6' 270lbs. I plan to lose another 50lbs by spring though.

I love the look of the R3 and it appears to be reasonably priced for a new bike. But it is too impractical for a first bike? I feel it is safe to assume I will dump my first bike several times as I gain experience. In which case spending $5k seems a bit much. Maybe an older 250\300 for a couple grand is better? Money isn't that much of an issue really. But still. Maybe I am over thinking it. Also, I am from MN and it gets VERY hot in the summer and we have limited riding season cause winter sucks.

I also visited a dealer Saturday and sat on several bikes. Doing so really helped me get even more excited to ride and help ease me a bit about my partial lack of confidence.

The bikes I sat on include: 2016 Ninja 300, 2014 and 2015 CBR500R, 2014 CBR300R, New 1000cc.. forgot the make, and an R3