ERROR code F1 Suzuki gixxer - Sportbikes.net
Help Me Fix It A great place to post any problems you may be having while working on your motorcycle. Most of us are do-it-yourselfers so this is a great way to share any information pertaining to fixing something or adding something on.

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-19-2005, 07:25 PM Thread Starter
SBN Rookie
 
Trax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Age: 40
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
ERROR code F1 Suzuki gixxer

Bike would not start, after 5 seconds an error code came up "F1" or "FI" on the temp gauge, red light flashed continuously!

Live life with no boundries, Explore and invent as you go. Because survival is an ART!
Trax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-19-2005, 07:31 PM
Industrial superstar
 
Kawisixer01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Age: 34
Posts: 722
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
it's your fuel injection warning light. A number of things can set it off. I can look in my shop manual and list them for you when i get home from school.
Kawisixer01 is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-19-2005, 07:39 PM Thread Starter
SBN Rookie
 
Trax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Age: 40
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Thanks bro ,I would appreciate the help! BTW the bike is running now ..
had to reset ECU!

Live life with no boundries, Explore and invent as you go. Because survival is an ART!
Trax is offline  
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-20-2005, 01:54 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The real world. A place jim schmidt cannot find!
Age: 38
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
I know what is wrong with it......... It's a GSXR HAHAHAHA. Just kidding man. Most of the time it is because one of your injectors is clugged causing an uneven flow. Throw some fuel system treat ment in at the next fill up run it threw in one day then take your tank off and look at your injectors. I bet you'll find them to be very clean.
M24SWS is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-20-2005, 03:00 AM
World 500 GP Champion
 
21 natas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: san antonio texas
Age: 14
Posts: 10,765
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
you can go to gixxer.com and look up the FI codes there if you do the dealer mod. and hopefully it will help you out some

2006 R6 blue-the faster color; akra. exhaust, fender elim. tinted screen, pc, and other cosmetic goodies etc.etc.
21 natas is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-20-2005, 05:04 PM Thread Starter
SBN Rookie
 
Trax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Age: 40
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by M24SWS
I know what is wrong with it......... It's a GSXR HAHAHAHA. Just kidding man. Most of the time it is because one of your injectors is clugged causing an uneven flow. Throw some fuel system treat ment in at the next fill up run it threw in one day then take your tank off and look at your injectors. I bet you'll find them to be very clean.

Thank You!

Live life with no boundries, Explore and invent as you go. Because survival is an ART!
Trax is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-21-2005, 10:31 PM
500 GP Racer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Edgewood MD
Posts: 966
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
This was a problem on the 01 also, what I was told by my delearship while I lived in Vegas that a hot blast of air going into the intake would set off the FI light, he said pull over and shut if off restart and see if it goes away.....kinda wierd.

SLOW is SMOOTH, SMOOTH is FAST, FAST is GOOD!
chsnprodigy is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-23-2005, 06:51 AM
lun
Superbike Champion
 
lun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 402
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Grab a paperclip.

Place the bike in Neutral, and take the rear seat cowling off. On the side of the bike between the tail section and the trunk you will find a connector that is covered by a rubber cap, and has two wires running into it. Remove the cap and take note of which one of the 4 sockets the two wires go to. Turn the bike ON and start it up, short the wires out with the paperclip. Where your speedo was flashing a -CHEC- with the temp should now be a CXX error code. Write this code down. Then shut the bike off. Match the code up with the list below. Grab a Manual and get to work!

(What you have just done is put the bike into "Dealer Mode". I think it's a gimick implemented so that you have to take the bike in and pay $60 for a diagnostics fee.)

GSXR Fuel Injection (FI) Code List:

C14 - THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR
C15 - ENGINE COOLANT TEMPERATURE SENSOR
C21 - INTAKE AIR TEMPERATURE SENSOR
C22 - ATMOSPHERIC PRESSURE SENSOR
C23 - TIPOVER SENSOR
C24 - IGNITION SIGNAL #1
C25 - IGNITION SIGNAL #2
C26 - IGNITION SIGNAL #3
C27 - IGNITION SIGNAL #4
C28 - SECONDARY THROTTLE VALVE ACTUATOR
C29 - SECONDARY THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR
C30 - SECONDARY THROTTLE CONTROL UNIT
C31 - GEAR POSITION SENSOR
C32 - INJECTOR SIGNAL #1
C33 - INJECTOR SIGNAL #2
C34 - INJECTOR SIGNAL #3
C35 - INJECTOR SIGNAL #4
C41 - FUEL PUMP CONTROL SYSTEM
C42 - IGNITION SWITCH SIGNAL
C46 - EXHAUST CONTROL VALVE ACTUATOR (1000 ONLY)



* I Predict a C28 Error which is one of the most common among 2000-2001 model GSXRs. The Secondary Throttle Valve was controlled by cables during these years instead of just bolting the unit dirrectly to the motor. The cables tended to fray around 20k miles or so. It's a relatively easy and cheap fix. 2001 they coated the cables in a plastic sheath which helped to solve the problem. If this is indeed your problem it will run you all of $18 for BOTH cables (if you need them) and about a half hours worth of work. Let me know if you need more assistance!
lun is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-23-2005, 04:46 PM
World 500 GP Racer
 
Redstar11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 2,722
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
His bike would have still started if it was c28 error code.

By the way you are missing the error codes for Crank Position Signal Sensor.

That would have been my guess, if his bike was indeed not starting, CPS error.

Either that or TPS, or Tip over sensor faults.

This thought is all I have to trust upon, when light is gone.

The words between the lines, The worst of the best, The dust on the pews, Nihil!

Leave dependence to drones. Lies to the harvest for the truth to be sown.

Pain, necessary to know.

Last edited by Redstar11; 03-23-2005 at 04:50 PM.
Redstar11 is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-23-2005, 06:08 PM Thread Starter
SBN Rookie
 
Trax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Age: 40
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Well I did What "lun" said and came up with "c00" which i,m guessing means
there are no errors right now, Makes sense (I reset the UCU to get it to start)
probably just throw some injector cleaner in and wait for it to happen again!

Thanks for all your help guys!!!

Live life with no boundries, Explore and invent as you go. Because survival is an ART!
Trax is offline  
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-23-2005, 11:31 PM
World 500 GP Racer
 
Redstar11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tempe, AZ
Posts: 2,722
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
c00 indeed means thats everything is ' coo '

bad joke, but at least your bike should be running ok.

This thought is all I have to trust upon, when light is gone.

The words between the lines, The worst of the best, The dust on the pews, Nihil!

Leave dependence to drones. Lies to the harvest for the truth to be sown.

Pain, necessary to know.
Redstar11 is offline  
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-24-2005, 03:24 AM
lun
Superbike Champion
 
lun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 402
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
the C00 Is the standard code if nothing is wrong with the bike. Infront of the C00 there is a line that can have one of three positions.

_C00 -C00 C00

This tells you what position the Secondary Throttle Position Sensor (TPS) is in.

Look at the code to make sure that the indicator is in the middle ( -C00 ). if it is lower your TPS is turned too far back. If it is higher, your TPS is turned too far forward. If all is well and your FI light is still on or the bike does not run, let me know. I'll need more information to further assist you.

Last edited by lun; 03-24-2005 at 03:27 AM.
lun is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-26-2005, 12:33 AM Thread Starter
SBN Rookie
 
Trax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Age: 40
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
The light is off now it only came on that one time when it wouldn't start.
after I unplugged the ECU and reattached it the bike started fine and It has not done it again, that was a week ago! (-c00) position

Live life with no boundries, Explore and invent as you go. Because survival is an ART!
Trax is offline  
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-26-2005, 02:21 AM
lun
Superbike Champion
 
lun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 402
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Well, Sweet! carry that paper clip in your trunk or something. If you get the FI light again pull over, leave the bike running and put it in Neutral and Put it back into 'Dealer Mode'. If you shut the bike off, it will clear the FI code and you may not be able to find out what it was.


You can also purchase a switch (or make one yourself) from http://www.jsdproducts.com/Product_I...duct_info.html

Last edited by lun; 03-26-2005 at 02:25 AM.
lun is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-27-2005, 07:44 PM Thread Starter
SBN Rookie
 
Trax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Florida
Age: 40
Posts: 29
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
 
Cool, Thanks Man

Live life with no boundries, Explore and invent as you go. Because survival is an ART!
Trax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Sportbikes.net forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome