Looks like they have some new tricks they are using to "convince" people these deals are legit. I had never heard about the fake shipping company website
This is from another forum.
I have now been in contact with a "man from austria", who is selling in r1.
This is the ebay auction.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...category=31388 . It was a contact to be put on the buy list. HAHA. Notice the $35 buy it now. LOL. so anyways I sent the basic message, put me on the list please. And Then I get my first reply.
From: "marinel stan" <bel998@msn.com>
To: ME
Subject: RE: Question for item #2488441299 - Yamaha : YZF : YZF R1
Date: Mon, 30 Aug 2004 21:40:05 +0000
Hello there,
I´m glad that you´re interested to buy my bike.
Let e tell you something about it.
The bike is in great condition. 2003 Yamaha YZF R1 with 5295 miles.All fluids have been regularly changed and maintenance has always been performed by a mechanic.
Bike needs nothing. Title is in hand. Clean like new, always garaged. And, It could be yours I could say a lot more good things, but you might already know the credibility of a R1.
I´m in Austria and here is the bike.
The buy it now price is $3,500.including the shipping and insurance taxes.
The delivery will take maximum 5 working days (with insurance and 15 days return policy) and it will be done by Cargo Partners company ,door to door.
The service has frequent shared container services. Your bike is loaded into the container, and a crate is custom-built around it to protect your bike in transit.
After I will finish all the documents for shipping I will contact you and give you the tracking number for you can check the bike.Just after you will check it and and the shipping company confirm you the package you will send me the money.
The unit will be insured at the delivery service.If somethig happens on the road , you will receive the insurance from the delivery service.
As soon as the bike arrives, you will test and if it does not matches 100% to your expectations, you will return it in max.15 days since the arrival date.
If you agree with my above terms, I'm sure that we can close the deal as soon as possible.
Thank you for your time and interest!!!
Marinel Stan
That was the beginning. So now I replied to him. Acting all innocent and what not.
From: ME
To:
bel998@msn.com
Subject: RE: Question for item #2488441299 - Yamaha : YZF : YZF R1
Date: Mon, 30 Aug 2004 18:47:26 -1000
Would you be willing to ship the bike now, and I pay the Cash on Delivery. Meaning I can't take the bike without paying for it, since this is outside of eBay. That way I know this isn't some scam. I will gladly pay on arrival if this turns out to be a legal deal. I would like to do this and safely as possible to me, because I am looking for a R1.
He must be desperate to get me to give him the money no matter how it happened. Since he agrees to this.
From: "marinel stan" <bel998@msn.com>
To: ME
Subject: RE: Question for item #2488441299 - Yamaha : YZF : YZF R1
Date: Tue, 31 Aug 2004 04:52:53 +0000
Ok,here is what i say.
I will ship the bike tomorrow morning and then i will send you a copy of the invoice with the tracking number and you will check it on-line.
After you´ll see that the bike is on it´s way,you will send me he money.
If you accept my terms,please reply with your full name and address.
Waitting....
So i wanted to see where this goes so I give him my info for shipping. Probably a stupid move but it seems to be gettting this "transaction" moving along.
From: ME
To:
bel998@msn.com
Subject: RE: Question for item #2488441299 - Yamaha : YZF : YZF R1
Date: Thu, 02 Sep 2004 20:15:18 -1000
OK that sounds good.
R. Takahashi
1153 Namahealani Pl.
Honolulu, Hawaii, 96825, USA
So I guess all of you people now know. What he knows. LOL. So now he sends me an email saying its shipped and give me info to "track" it. It's funny how he thinks his fake website will work.
From: "marinel stan" <bel998@msn.com>
To: ME
Subject: RE: Question for item #2488441299 - Yamaha : YZF : YZF R1
Date: Fri, 03 Sep 2004 22:31:18 +0000
I sent the bike.Here is the tracking number:191255741455
You could check it here
www.ece-express.com.
I´m waitting an e-mail from you as soon as you´ll receive this.
Not only this gets to me, but a "email" from the other site. The one he is supposedly shipping the bike with.
Euro Cargo Express, Inc. <support@ece-express.com>
Reply-To : "Euro Cargo Express, Inc." <support@ece-express.com>
Sent : Friday, September 3, 2004 12:27 PM
To :
bel998@msn.com
Subject : Euro Cargo Express Ship Notification, Tracking Number 191255741455
***Do not reply to this e-mail. Euro Cargo Express, Inc. and Marinel Stan will not receive your reply.***
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This message was sent to you at the request of Marinel Stan to notify you that the package information below has been transmitted to Euro Cargo Express, Inc. The package(s) may not have actually been placed with Euro Cargo Express, Inc. for shipment. To verify when and if the shipment is tendered to Euro Cargo Express, Inc. and its actual transit status, click on the tracking link below or contact Marinel Stan directly.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Shipment Detail
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Ship To:
R. Takahashi
1111 Name Pl. Honolulu, Hawaii, 96825, USA
Tracking Number: 191255741455
Number of Packages: 1
Order Description: 2003 Yamaha YZF R1
Weight: 175Kg
Service Type: Airfreight
Click here to track if Euro Cargo Express, Inc. has received your shipment. If the link doesn't work, please copy this url
http://www.ece-express.com?page=track&tn=191255741455 into a new browser window and press go.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This e-mail contains proprietary information and may be confidential. If you are not the intended recipient of this e-mail, you are hereby notified that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this message is strictly prohibited. If you received this message in error, please delete it immediately.This e-mail was automatically generated by Euro Cargo Express, Inc. e-mail services at the shipper's request. Any reply to this e-mail will not be received by Euro Cargo Express, Inc. or by the shipper. Please contact the shipper directly if you have questions regarding the referenced shipment.
So anyways I go there to check it out. Seemed to be kinda strange. So I showed it to my friend. He wonders how you ship something from the website, or contact them. Seems kinda fishy. So anyways "looks" like it was shipped. So my friend does some research and comes up with this.
the site that the dude sent you is a fake...he only put it up for u to
see and now when i try to access it it doesnt exist. i even tried to
google cache it to see what i get.
the real site is
http://www.eceusa.com/default.asp
and a popup just popped up saying:
Euro Cargo Express Inc has been receiving phone calls from internet
users requesting tracking information on merchandise they have
purchased online from overseas. They are informed by seller that their
merchandise is shipped through Euro Cargo Express and provide a link
to track their shipment. Euro Cargo Express is not involved in
shipping products sold over the internet.
The link provided in these emails is referring user to fraudulent web
sites not related to us, that is using our name and logo thus
resulting in copyright infringement. We have been informed of some of
these sites;
www.ece-express.com,
www.eurocargo-express.com,
www.eurocargo.shyper.com, and
www.e-cargoexpress.com. There could be
more web sites that we are not aware. Euro Cargo Express, Inc is not
related or associated or doing business in any way to any of the
parties involved in these transactions.
If you have any questions please email us at
customerservice@eurocargo.com.
So I thought it was all over, so I send him a message since when I try to go back it doesnt show up at all. Thinking its all over I contact him about it. Once again acting innocent to pretend I dont think anything wrong is going on.
From: ME
To:
bel998@msn.com
Subject: RE: Question for item #2488441299 - Yamaha : YZF : YZF R1
Date: Sun, 05 Sep 2004 12:05:36 -1000
I got your email. There doesn't seem to be a website. I went to it and nothing shows up. Can you explain this to me? Please Help!
Once again he replys quite quickly, with a plan to cover his big fat fake @$$. Hahaha. Scammers sure are good sellers, they reply so fast.
From : marinel stan <bel998@msn.com>
Sent : Sunday, September 5, 2004 2:35 PM
To : ME
Subject : RE: Question for item #2488441299 - Yamaha : YZF : YZF R1
Hello R,
After i received your e-mail i contact the shipping company,their were working on the web page ,you could check the tracking here:
www.cargo-partners.com
Everything it´s ok.The tracking number is the same:191255741455
I´m waitting the payment confirmation.
Nice to have business with you!!!!
I checked it out, once again seems fishy. So I respond to him. Seeing if I can get him to choke. Or send me an actual bike. HAHA. More details as it comes along. Let me know what you people think, or what my next move should be.