Home Message Board SBN Chat SBN Articles Bike Specs Register Pictures Classifieds Forum Rules Advertise Contact Us

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.
Cycle Gear
Go Back   Sportbikes.net > Topic Discussions > General Sportbikes
Register Subscribe Casino Garage FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Blogs Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

General Sportbikes This area is for sport bike discussion in general. Topics that don't really belong anywhere else can go here. Questions can be answered and addressed to fully understand certain aspects of the sport. If your question is manufacturer specific please post it there.



Sponsored by: ICON Motorsports

» Insurance


» Site Sponsors
Corbin Pacific Inc.
CycleGear.comMotorcycle.com Classifieds!McCoyMotorsportsPartsPitStopSee your ad here!
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2008, 10:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
fishwiz4
Supersport Racer
 
fishwiz4's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fargo, ND and Corcoran, MN
Age: 24
Posts: 142
Gameroom cash: $4604
Sportbike: none
fishwiz4 is on a distinguished road
Default how does this scam work?

ok...i found this bike on craigslist and contacted him saying that i would be interested at the price that was posted ( i assumed it was either a typo, or a scam), and this is the response that he gave me:

Re: Goldwing Trike
William Ryder

Hello,

Thank you for contacting me about the 2006 Honda Gold Wing 1800 Motor Trike Spyder with 1200 miles, Vin number: 1hfsc47f56a506742.

About the bike:It is in immaculate condition,no scratches, no damages, no hidden defects, never been involved in any accident.The motor runs smoothly.The bike is always garaged and rarely used.The bike has clear title and is still US registered so you will not have to pay any custom taxes.

The problem is that I had to move with my family in Portugal where I got a new job transfer.I brought the bike here with me with the intention of driving it but when I found out about the very high import duties and all the restrictions regarding registration and emissions tests here I've changed my mind and I've decided to sell the vehicle.I want to sell it in US because is still registered there.

The amount you will have to pay in order to own this vehicle is $3,560 with shipping costs included! I want to take this opportunity to assure you that this deal is 100% legitimate,the financial part of this deal will be managed by eBay,in this way both of us will be protected.They will keep the payment until you receive the item and test it.

So if you really want it please email me as soon as possible.

Thank you,
William


To add to it, i googled the guy's name, and this is the page that i found:
William Ryder - Teivovo.com



i know this is a scam, but my question is how does he expect ot pull it off? doesnt ebay/paypal have alot of protection for the buyer?

im sure the bike doesnt even exist as far as this guy is concerned.

can sombody figure this out for me?

thanks
fish
__________________
-I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory.

-Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.

-Fishing originated shortly after the dawn of civilization...or was it the other way around?

Last edited by fishwiz4; 04-07-2008 at 10:26 PM.
fishwiz4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-07-2008, 10:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
lunchbox101
500 G.P. Champion
 
lunchbox101's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: northern cali
Age: 21
Posts: 1,383
Gameroom cash: $71778
Sportbike: 2007 Yamaha R6
lunchbox101 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

he says through ebay, but will ask you to transfer money through a bank

go ahead and email him back and watch what he says
lunchbox101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 10:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
fishwiz4
Supersport Racer
 
fishwiz4's Avatar
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Fargo, ND and Corcoran, MN
Age: 24
Posts: 142
Gameroom cash: $4604
Sportbike: none
fishwiz4 is on a distinguished road
Default

ok, i was thinkin i would play with the guy a little, but i would love to ty to scam a scammer. in this case, i dont think this guy has ever seen the bike, so there is no way that i would end up with it.
__________________
-I just got lost in thought. It was unfamiliar territory.

-Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.

-Fishing originated shortly after the dawn of civilization...or was it the other way around?
fishwiz4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
fishinfool88
SBN Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Greenfield, IN
Posts: 29
Gameroom cash: $782
Sportbike: 1995 Suzuki Katana 600
fishinfool88 is on a distinguished road
Default

Ask him about his wonderful goose steps, his speed, and his craftiness. Then ask him if he thinks he can outrun his goldwing.
fishinfool88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 10:47 PM   #5 (permalink)
PrimaNinja
Supersport Racer
 
PrimaNinja's Avatar
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: in your bathroom, fogging up your mirror
Posts: 183
Gameroom cash: $35663
Sportbike: 2007 kawasaki ninja 250
PrimaNinja is on a distinguished road
Default

419 scams - this is bloody brilliant
PrimaNinja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 10:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
CMantis
500 G.P. Champion
 
CMantis's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,038
Gameroom cash: $37897
Sportbike: 2005 FZ6
CMantis is on a distinguished road
Default

Here are a few good ones: Scamming the Scammers: 5 Brilliant Reverse 419 Scams at OddOrama
CMantis is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If you ride to work, what do you wear? RhythmsDJs General Sportbikes 53 02-25-2008 03:25 PM
COLD WEATHER SUCKS! - I rode to work tonight.. burrrr lownuff General Sportbikes 30 02-21-2007 02:44 AM
Scam, Scam, Scam... Scamaroo. Mr. Lesbian General Sportbikes 37 09-10-2004 11:54 AM
2000 Zx9r ALL BODY WORK CHEAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Odysseys Parts For Sale 1 09-08-2004 07:51 PM
I hate bees. Anyone else hate bees? My work is infested with em! ARGHH! Inky24 Open Forums 28 09-04-2004 01:16 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.

Motorcycle News, Videos and Reviews
Kawasaki ForumDucati ForumHarley DavidsonYamaha R1BMW S1000RR Forum
Vulcan Forums Ducati MonsterV-Rod Forum Yamaha R6 Kawasaki Z1000
Kawasaki ZX Forum Honda 600RR Harley ForumYZF-R6 ForumSportbike Forum
Kawasaki ZX-10RHonda 1000RRSuzuki SVYamaha FZ8Can Am Spyder
Kawasaki KLR 650Honda RC51Suzuki V-StromStar Motorcycles Aprilia Forum
Kawasaki VersysHonda FurySuzuki GSXR Triumph ForumKTM Forum
Kawasaki EX-500Honda GoldwingGSX-R ForumTriumph 675Victory Forums

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.0.0
© 1997 - 2007 Sportbikes.net INC. All Rights Reserved.