Sport Bikes banner

How long can you ride for leisure?

3K views 34 replies 28 participants last post by  PaulRoberts 
#1 ·
I'm new to the saddle, and have been spending the afternoons riding through the country, practicing. Unfortunately, I can only make it about 2 hours before my body is on fire. Of course, it's practice, so I'm moving around a lot more than most people commuting would be, but groin and neck pain are rather significant. I know my body will adjust with practice, but I was wondering how long our senior members can go on a bike for fun before they need to ice down their delicates.

#4 ·
I think you're doing it wrong.

A typical east county "swing" for us in San Diego is maybe 250-300 miles. That's considered a comfortable day's sport ride with no particular pressing involved.

KeS
Wrong? Well I know any wrist or palm pain is "wrong" because you're not supposed to hold your weight up with your hands, but I don't know what I could be doing wrong to cause soreness in my inseam. I used to ride horses, and that was simply a reality until you got used to it. My toes were also slightly numb yesterday, since I was holding up most of my weight with the balls of my feet. And my neck just hurt all over.

#8 ·
Yeah..... it depends on the bike, but 2-3 hours is no biggie if the roads are interesting. I start getting a little buttsore after about 4-5 hours on a supersport.

But after 2 hours I'm normally more bored than sore. How would you describe yourself physically? Tall, short? Long arms, short? These things matter....

#12 ·
Sounds like you're using the wrong muscles for support. You shouldn't be pressing into the pegs so hard, and you should be using your abs more than your arms or legs. Neck pain is from a combination of the wind, and the weight of your helmet. That will get better over time as your neck muscles strengthen, but a light weight helmet is always money well spent. I'm loving the Bell Star Carbon I just picked up.

#13 ·